SARAH Interface

December, 2009

As discussed in earlier blogs, I’ve made many attempts to refine the user interface for Watchdog to optimize usage ranging from ANSI graphical interfaces to touchscreens.  At work, I learned about how Microsoft had continued to evolve their Speech API in .NET Framework and I decided to fiddle around with it a bit on my own.  I was delighted to learn that it was rich, powerful and easy to use.  I became convinced that this could be the next step in the evolution of the Watchdog interface – 2-way voice interaction leveraging the real-time house status information in the Watchdog database and RSS feeds from the Internet.

In an effort to further enhance the usability, I decided to give Watchdog a personality which included a consistent, distinct name and voice.  At the time, my wife and I were enjoying a series on the SyFy channel called “Eureka” where the sheriff of a small town lives in an ultra high-tech, AI smarthouse named SARAH.  In the TV show, SARAH stands for “Self-Actuated, Residential, Automated Habitat”.  I adopted the name for my creation and used the “Microsoft Mary” voice in my application.

Over time, the list of functions SARAH can understand has grown.  Looking back, I realized I had an equivalent of Apple’s “Siri” years ahead.  Here is a sample of her initial vocabulary and functions:

House Information – SARAH provides the current status about doors, windows and locks

  • Name a room
  • Mail/Mailbox
  • Cars
  • Name a level (House, Upstairs, Mail Level, Basement, etc.)

House Temperature – SARAH provides current status about temperature

  • House Temperature
  • Upstairs Temperature
  • Main Level Temperature
  • Server Room Temperature
  • Garage Temperature

Weather – SARAH uses RSS feeds to get real-time information for weather conditions outside the house

  • What’s the weather like?
  • Forecast
  • Weather Today
  • What should I wear today?   (uses a custom decision tree based on temperature, chance of precipitation and other available data points)
  • What should I wear tomorrow?

Other Questions – Other things SARAH knows how to answer

  • What time is it?
  • What day is it?
  • What can I say?  (gives a brief summary of the commands she can respond to in case you forget).
  • What is the air speed velocity of a laden swallow?  (yes, big Monty Python fan).

I ran SARAH from a server in the basement and used the house wiring to allocate 2 wires for a microphone in the kitchen.  The microphone had an on/off switch so we could avoid having her respond to everything.  When she responded, her voice could be heard throughout the house over the intercom system.  It was a bit weird to be in another room while someone was using her because you only heard half the conversation.

Later, I moved her to a dedicated PC in my bedroom.  I have a low-profile microphone and speaker on my wife’s nightstand.  The Microphone has a mute button so you just push and talk.

Challenges:

SARAH works well, but has a few quirks:

  • The Microsoft SAPI does not hear female voices well, for some reason.  My son and I have no problem interacting with SARAH, but my wife and daughter do.  Typically, to be understood, they speak in a false baritone voice and she responds.  Strange.  There’s no configuration in the API to address this.
  • Over time, the RSS feeds were changed by the host.  SARAH will simply say “I’m unable to process that request at this time”.  When I hear that repeatedly, I know it’s time to dig back into the code and re-write the interface.  I’ve reduced this by using XSLT’s to filter out only the XML tags I want so I don’t have to traverse the whole structure.

Future:

Later, I built the SARAH interface into a “Magic Mirror”.  See this other post for more details.

Screen Shot:

Sarah

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

