Line Following Robot

June, 2010

Interested in learning more about robots, but not sure I was ready to build one from scratch on my own, I decided to invest in some kits to help give me ideas and sharpen my skills.  I discovered a line-following mouse robot kit from Elenco.  It required assembly and soldering and I felt I was up for the challenge.  Turns out, I needed to re-learn how to solder since I was taught incorrectly.  By the end of the project, I was fairly proficient in soldering the components onto the PCB.

DSCN0040 Mouse Bot

The kit came with a clear cover that fit over top of the circuitry.  My daughter, the artist, asked to paint it and did a GREAT job.  This little kit is really impressive.  I was a bit disappointed that there was no programming involved, though – that’s my favorite part.  The chip comes pre-loaded with the logic.

Leave a Reply

