A Star Wars Fandom Sign

May, 2017

My wife is a huge Star Wars fan, so for Mother’s Day, I decided to make her a Star Wars Fandom sign that she could hang on the wall.   She has showed me a few that were for sale, but I figured I could easily make one and personalize it a bit.  The total duration of this project was about 8 hours including 4.5 hours of carve time.

I started with a design in InkScape capturing some of the most iconic lines from the movie including many of her favorites.  I pulled from both old and new movies and tried to capture a few lines that were repeated throughout the films.

IN THIS HOUSE, WE ARE ONE WITH THE FORCE AND THE FORCE IS WITH US.
DO OR DO NOT.  THERE IS NO TRY.
WE HAVE A BAD FEELING ABOUT THIS AND KNOW IT'S A TRAP.
WE KNOW FEAR IS THE PATH TO THE DARK SIDE AND BRING BALANCE TO THE FORCE.
BECAUSE IN THIS HOUSE, WE DO STAR WARS.

I downloaded a Star Wars font by Boba Font to make the letters look like the Star Wars logo.  Finally, I converted it to a path, then uploaded it into Easel and centered it onto the work space.

0513171234

Next, I visited my local WoodCraft store and found a beautiful piece of Cherry wood that would allow me to get the 10″ x 12″ board I needed.  It was 1″ thick which was more than I wanted, but there were not any other options.

I cut the wood to size, clamped it down into the X-Carve and began carving.  Total carve time was 4.5 hours.  I routed the edges before carving which was probably a mistake because it made it more difficult to clamp down.

0513171225

I tried something new:  I video taped the carve process, then sped it up x64 so it could be viewed in just under 4 minutes.

After the carving, I sanded down the surfaces and used my Riffler files to clean up the insides of the carved letters.  I then used 3 different sandpaper grits, then wet/dry and did another round of sanding.  Finally, I put on a coat of Formbys Tung Oil Finish.  Here is the finished result.

0513172105
Star Wars Fandom Sign
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

